

# Council **OPEN MINUTES**

Minutes of a reconvened meeting of Council held in the Council Chambers, 126-148 Oxford St, Levin, on Thursday 3 May 2018 at 12.00 pm.

**PRESENT** 

Mayor Mr M Feyen

**Deputy Mayor** Mr W E R Bishop (from 6.55 pm)

Councillors Mr R H Campbell Mr N G Gimblett

> Mr B F Judd (from 5.49 pm)

Mrs V M Kaye-Simmons

Mrs J F G Mason Mrs C B Mitchell Ms P J Tukapua Mr B P Wanden

IN ATTENDANCE

**Reporting Officer** Mr D McCorkindale (Group Manager – Strategy & Development)

> Mr D M Clapperton (Chief Executive)

(Chief Financial Officer) Mr D Law

(Group Manager – Customer & Regulatory Services) Mrs N Brady

Ms S Grant (Group Manager – People & Community)

(Property & Parks Manager) Mr A Nelson

Mr V Geldenhuys (Aquatics Manager) (Roading Manager) Mr K Peel

Mr P Gaydon (Water & Waste Services Manager)

Mr R Srivastava (Asset Planning Manager) Ms S Van der Walt (Asset Management Engineer) (Community Engagement Manager) Mrs L Winiata

(Growth Response Manager) Mr D Haigh

(Business Analyst – Strategic Planning) Ms N Mangione

Ms C O'Shea (Strategic Planner) (Meeting Secretary) Mrs K J Corkill

#### **ALSO IN ATTENDANCE**

Various Council Officers attended from time to time throughout the evening.

### **PUBLIC IN ATTENDANCE**

There were seven members of the public in attendance at the commencement of the meeting.



## 1 Apologies

An apology was recorded for Cr Brannigan and apologies for lateness were recorded for Deputy Mayor Bishop and Cr Judd.

MOVED by Cr Kaye-Simmons, seconded Cr Campbell:

THAT the apology from Cr Brannigan and the apologies for lateness from Deputy Mayor Bishop and Cr Judd be received.

**CARRIED** 

#### 2 Declaration of Interest

There were no declarations of interest.

The following submitters joined the table to speak to their submission, add further detail or emphasis and respond to Councillors' questions.

Submission 89 – Horowhenua GreyPower Association – Lew Rohloff A copy of GreyPower's supplementary submission was provided.

Submission 156 – GreyPower (Road Safety Committee) – Henry Gatherer Mr Gatherer provided a copy of his further comments.

Submission 214 – Horowhenua GreyPower – Terry Hemmingsen A copy of Mr Hemmingsen's further comments was provided.

Submission 158 - Raewyn Tate

Submission 148 – Lilian Maisie Kimber

Ms Kimber provided more detail to support her submission.

Submission 237 – Greg Rzesniowiecki

Submission 231 – Margaret Campbell

Submission 166 - Maxine Jones

Supporting information to her submission in relation to Jones' Playground was provided by Ms Jones.

Submission 243 – Keep Levin Beautiful – Ron Walton

Submission 185 – Diane Brown

Submission 175 – O2NL Noise Mitigation 2018 Group – Otto Bats & Murray Drummond Messrs Bats and Drummond gave a PowerPoint presentation, with a hard copy also provided.

Mr Clapperton made the observation that this submission would not be considered as part of the LTP process. It was actually related to the Growth Strategy that was concurrently being consulted on and would be considered as part of that process and would be dealt with by way of the District Plan, not the LTP.

Submission 146 - Vivienne Bold

Ms Bold provided a copy of her further comments.

Minutes Page 2



The meeting took a brief recess (2.36 – 2.50 pm).

Submission 164 – Horizons Regional Council – Nic Peet, Ramon Strong & Sarah Galley

Submission 212 - Foxton Community Board - David Roache & Tricia Metcalf

Submission 213 - David Roache

Submission 211 – Christina Paton, supported by Olaf Eady Mrs Paton provided a copy of her further comments.

Submission 78 – Horowhenua Lake Domain Board – Jenny Rowan

A copy of the Horowhenua Lake Domain Board's expanded submission was provided.

Submission 76 - Glenn Colquhoun -

Submission 216 – Sharon Williams
A copy of Ms Williams' further comments was provided.

Submission 183 – Shannon 'Get it Done' Group – Lani Te Taukura Ketu

Submission 179 – Environment Network Manawatu – Alastair Cole

Submission 159 – Manawatu Estuary Trust – Kelvin Lane, Kathryn Lane & Douglas Baird Copies of a "Welcome to the Manawatu Estuary" booklet were provided.

Submissions 210, 234 & 235 – Wildlife Foxton Trust – John Girling

Cr Judd joined the meeting at this juncture (5.49 pm).

Submission 236 – Royal Forest & Bird Protection Society Inc – Joan Leckie & Tom Kaye A copy of Ms Leckie's supporting comments was provided.

Submission 209 – Save Our River Trust – Robin Hapi Mr Hapi provided a copy of his supporting comments.

Submission 130 – Veronica Harrod
A copy of Ms Harrod's further comments was provided.

The meeting broke for a meal at 6.25 pm and reconvened at 6.55 pm.

Deputy Mayor Bishop joined the meeting.

MOVED by Cr Campbell, seconded Cr Mitchell:

THAT the Horowhenua District Council resolves that today's meeting to hear submitters to the Draft Long Term Plan 2018-2038 will continue passed the meeting duration of six hours set in Standing Order 4.2.

**CARRIED** 

Submission 111 – Tokomaru Village and Community Association – Wayne Richards, Edward Louth & Dianne Tews

Submission 67 – Horowhenua Farmers Ratepayers Group – Ann Thomas A copy of Mrs Thomas' further comments was provided.

Submission 109 - Ann Thomas

Minutes Page 3



Mrs Thomas provided a copy of her supporting comments to the submission on behalf of herself and her husband.

Submission 77 - Lake View Farm Limited - Peter Everton

Submission 173 – Manawatu River Source to Sea, Biodiversity Cluster Group – Alastair Cole & Fiona Gordon

There was a PowerPoint presentation and a booklet on the Group's vision and mission was provided.

Submission 168 - William Kimber

A copy of Mr Kimber's further comments was provided.

Submission 218 - John Martin

A copy of Mr Martin's supporting comments was provided.

Submission 217 – Horowhenua Neighbourhood Support – Anne Rogers, Deborah Campbell & Elaine Little

A copy of Neighbourhood Support's supporting information was provided.

Submission 215 – Levin RSA – Linda Fletcher & Wayne Kaye

Submission 176 – Sport Manawatu – Trevor Shailer, Barbara Cameron & Shane Harris

Submission 66 – Trevor Hinder

Mr Hinder provided a copy of his further comments to his LTP submission.

Submission 180 – Playford Park Users Group – Corey Kennett

Mr Kennett made a PowerPoint presentation in support of the Group's submission.

Submission 233 - Horowhenua Cricket Association - David O'Brien.

9.35 pm

There being no further business, the Chairperson declared the meeting closed.

CONFIRMED AS A TRUE AND CORRECT RECORD AT A MEETING OF COUNCIL HELD ON

DATE:

CHAIRPERSON:

Minutes Page 4